beginning with blueberries

if wisdom is part practical application of what one knows (and part something i don’t yet know), i could be much wiser. i know plenty (while simultaneously knowing nothing). i allow for the possibility that what i know i might not know, i might learn differently, i might be mistaken or change my mind, but what i think i know today is this:

i feel more capable and inspired to DO things when i’ve slept more than three hours in a 24-hour period. my body operates more efficiently when i eat protein and vegetables than when i eat crackers and fiber bars all day. the weather affects my mood and extreme heat makes me cranky, which is why i travel to cooler climates during the summer. i’m addicted to diet coke but not ready to give it up, even though i dislike the compulsive craving. i pick scabs, which is gross and makes me bleed and prevents my body from healing. painted toenails make me happy every time i take off my socks. i want to give more because i have more to give. i need to write more because i have more to write and i need to let other people read what i write even though i don’t want to, am afraid to, make elaborate excuses not to, burn or delete it to make it disappear. i know that every little thing is gonna be alright, because it always has been and most things in life ain’t no big thing, even if they feel heavy while carrying them. my heart stays open when i openly communicate. i make myself sick and sad and magnify fear when i shut down communication. most people want to love me if i’ll let them. the ones who can’t love me likely need my love and compassion, although probably from a detached distance. if i want to know how best to love someone, how best to help them, how best to support them, i’ve learned to ask them, because people are different from me. people need and want to receive love, help, and support differently from the ways i want it. i’ll eat as many blueberries as i buy. therefore, i ought to buy fewer at a time. i’ve eaten eight pounds of blueberries in the past week, which is too many.

i bet you have a list of things you know for which you’d be wiser if you practiced. my list changes. maybe yours does, too. if you feel like it, brainstorm a quick list and see if there’s anything you want to begin putting into practice today. i’m willing to committing to no more blueberries this season. i’ll be wiser about blueberries, at least. i’ll begin there.

About angel joy

love is an action verb. i live love in action.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to beginning with blueberries

  1. complete says:

    things i know: garth was on to something when he said “some of god’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers.”
    i know that love and the repetiiton of that word centers me.
    i know that i am not my body but i felt happy and even proud to be in this particular shell last saturday night. i know i feel more appreciate and accepting of myself and my body than ever.
    i know drama frustrates me…as i sit here listening to drama expressed by a certain five year old who is not getting what she wants! šŸ™‚

  2. Dianne Scott says:

    Things I Know: There’s no such thing as too many blueberries.

Leave a Reply

