ireland

i didn’t need a reason to go to ireland, because traveling for traveling’s sake is reason enough, but i have reasons. i came to ireland because i’ve never been here before. i chose ireland because ireland’s high temperatures at the beginning of september hover around 65 degrees and the high temperatures at home are more than 100 degrees. i’m in ireland hiking in a green mossy forest because hiking in a green mossy forest is my favorite activity in the whole wide world. i’m in ireland pre-celebrating a big birthday next month to relieve pressure from the actual birthdate. i’m pre-celebrating my birthday in ireland because ten years ago i spent my last “big” birthday on the receiving end of someone else’s rage in that person’s kitchen and i wasn’t wise enough back then to walk away from someone raging at me. i  wasn’t wise enough last year to walk away from a different someone raging at me, but i’ve learned plenty since then.
 
i’m in ireland because i’m privileged with the resources and freedom that make international travel possible. i’m in ireland because six weeks ago i sat at my computer and priced destinations all over the world and chose this one. i’m in ireland because i gave myself permission to have what i desire. i’m in ireland because i have the ability to pre-celebrate a significant birthday in a safe and self-kind way. nobody in ireland is going to rage at me. nobody in ireland is going to blame me for something i haven’t done. even when i almost accidentally turned into the right lane instead of the left, the man i would have hit with my car just pointed left and looked at me like i was stupid, but he didn’t yell at me. i hate being yelled at. i don’t have to stand paralyzed in place receiving abuse doled out by angry people in pain. i don’t have to be an angry person in pain anymore either. i can be gentle and soft and joyful. i can be quiet and reclusive and creative. i can be anything i want to be and feel all my feelings and trust that my needs will be met and ask for what i want and live in a way that reflects what i treasure. i can keep myself safe and pursue my adventures and love more and wider and deeper and give up the illusion of control and release fears based on a history that ended long ago and choose to be happy every single day, because life really is that simple. be kind. be happy. have an adventure. trust what comes and trust what goes. that’s what i’m doing in ireland and i wake up each morning to the best days of my life.
 
About angel joy

love is an action verb. i live love in action.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to ireland

  1. Ed says:

    I wish I had known you were going to Ireland. Have always wanted to go, and was even thinking about it this year. Would have been nice to have a friend to travel with.

  2. Renee says:

    I love this.

  3. pixie sister says:

    yeehaw ireland!
    a friend of mine didn’t know who sinead o’connor is, what?!, and i realized it’s because she is a decade younger than me. that was a weird moment.
    i love you, have a fargin’ pre-big birthday blast!

Leave a Reply

