songwriting and poetry

he wrote a song about me. the song his ex-girlfriend had asked him to write for her. but i know what she didn’t know. i know you can’t ask a songwriter to write a song about you, at least not one you’ll like. i told him from the beginning not to write a song about me because i knew. i knew that if i asked for a song that the song he’d write would be one i wouldn’t want written about me. instead i asked him not to write a song for me, nearly forbade it, knowing that he would write one or two or three because the freedom granted by taking off all pressure makes writing come when it wouldn’t otherwise. i know this because i am a writer. knowing what i know about writing, i asked her to write a poem for my birthday that first year. she wrote the poem more than a month in advance of my birthday and mailed the poem to me as quickly as she wrote it. the poem she wrote wasn’t about me. i didn’t ask her to write a poem about me, i asked her to write a poem, and she hadn’t yet claimed that she was a poet. she thought she was someone who wrote poems. at that point, i knew better than she did what she was capable of writing. i knew she was a poet the first time i heard her read a poem. i asked her to write a poem for my birthday that year to encourage her to write in a new way, to write by external-and-once-removed inspiration rather than internal inspiration, and she fulfilled that request with ease and grace and beauty. once i held her poem in my hands, the one she had written for my birthday and given to me in advance, i knew that poem was the best gift i’d ever received. i knew her poem would be the best gift i could ask for. but i didn’t ask him to write a song for me. i asked him to love me, knowing he would write songs about me if he loved me like i love him.

About angel joy

love is an action verb. i live love in action.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

